What are the major types of vitiligo?
The skin disease vitiligo is broadly classified into the following types: • Non-Segmental Vitiligo: This type of vitiligo causes white patches on both sides of the body. It results in progressive loss of skin color appearing in spurts over a long period of time. The patches are restricted to certain areas in the initial stages, but become more prominent with the passage of time. Initially, non-segmental vitiligo commonly affects the hands, feet, area around the eyes and mouth, or areas where the skin often rubs together. • Segmental Vitiligo: This type of vitiligo affects a certain area or segment of the body, such as an arm or a leg. It progresses for a year or so, before it stops. Commonly, segmental vitiligo affects an individual when he/she is young and is often accompanied by change of color of the hair, eyelashes and eyebrows. Statistics report such changes in almost 50 percent of the cases of segmental vitiligo. Depending on the amount of pigment loss appearing in the affected areas, non-segmental vitiligo is further categorized into these subtypes: • Localized Vitiligo: The white patches appear in a single or a couple of spots on the body. • Focal Vitiligo: Scattered white patches appear in certain areas of the body. Mostly, children are affected by this type of vitiligo. • Generalized Vitiligo: The white patches appear in multiple spots on the body. The size of the patches and the affected body areas differ from individual to individual. • Universal Vitiligo: This rare type of vitiligo causes most of the original skin color to disappear completely.
Would you rather have a conversation with a doctor?
Consult Verified
Doctors Online
94 users currently consulting online.
Trending Topics: Fever, Sex therapy